Goodbye my love

I wrote this poem many years ago - it was inspired by my research into the soldiers who fell in WW1.

Goodbye my love
Photo by Marek Studzinski / Unsplash

I wrote this poem many years ago - it was inspired by my research into the soldiers who fell in WW1.

Goodbye my Love

I have found peace in the quiet of death,
Now you must find peace in your days.
Those memories that hurt you will comfort you soon,
And your pain will dispel into haze.

When you can’t picture my face any more,
Don’t worry, I really don’t mind.
It’s not just your face that I love about you,
So I’m sure that it isn’t just mine.

It’s ok to grieve, and it’s ok to cry,
As long as it’s just for a while.
It’s never the wrong time for laughter and joy,
And you know how I love you to smile.

Don’t fret about things left undone or unsaid,
We know what we wanted to say.
Life is too short to get trapped in the past,
So look forward and live for today.

I’m fine, but it’s you that I worry about.
It’s you who must bear this, not I.
Let me be the wind that gives lift to your wings,
Let my life give you reason to fly.

Subscribe for my posts by email